Recent Posts

Saturday, December 31, 2016

#December Book Challenge - Day 31 - Favorite Reads of 2016

#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads. I thought I'd give it a try, but I can't make big promises because this is my first challenge and December is a pretty busy month. Let's see how far I can get. 

#31 - Favorite Reads of 2016

Title: It Ends With Us
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2016
Publisher: Atria Books
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury 
(A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)
Author: Sarah J, Maas
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Category/Genre: New Adult Fantasy

Title: Paper Princess 
(The Royals #1)
Author: Erin Watt (Elle Kennedy & Jen Frederick)
Publication Date: April 4th, 2016
Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
I've limited my choices on the only books I rated 5 stars in 2016. For a longer list, look at this week's Top 10 Tuesday.

Friday, December 30, 2016

#December Book Challenge - Day 30 - Most Anticipated Release of 2017

#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads. I thought I'd give it a try, but I can't make big promises because this is my first challenge and December is a pretty busy month. Let's see how far I can get. 

#30 - Most Anticipated Release of 2017

Title: Caraval
Author: Stephanie Garber
Publication date: January 31st, 2017
Category/Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Thursday, December 29, 2016

Review - Thirst (The Energy Vampires #1) by Jacquelyn Frank

Image and blurb from Goodreads
Title: Thirst
(The Energy Vampires #1)
Author: Jacquelyn Frank
Category/Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance
Publication Date: January 17th, 2017

A hidden society of vampires—and the humans they love—are at the heart of this opening novel in a biting, all-original series from the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightwalkers saga.

Rafe DaSilva is an energy vampire, soaking up nourishment from the sun—and, only when necessary, drawing sweet sustenance from humans who are pure in body and spirit. As the right-hand man to his queen, Rafe is a key player at a historic peace summit in New York City, which will unite the vampire nations against a common threat: the sycophants, who feed on humanity and kill indiscriminately. But Rafe’s fascination with a beautiful blond police detective may put everything at risk.

Detective Renee Holden has never worked a homicide quite like this. The victim has twin puncture wounds on his neck, and the only eyewitness swears she saw a vampire. Now’s definitely not the time to get distracted by a seductive stranger. But the suave, darkly austere, exotically handsome Rafe DaSilva is a hard man to deny, and as Renee falls under his spell, she also falls prey to his enemies. Desperate to protect her, Rafe lifts the veil on a shadow realm she can only visit—a world of intoxicating power, terrifying dangers, and forbidden pleasures.
Buy Links: Amazon

3 "Energy Vampires" Stars

ARC via NetGalley

Thank you, Loveswept!

Warning #1: Due to the holiday season and the lack of Internet access, I’m keeping my reviews short & sweet. Back to the normal speed next year. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year, guys!

As a fan of paranormal romance, I’ve been missing and waiting for this genre to make its official comeback. Who doesn’t love a good supernatural creature falls for human girl love story? I certainly do.

While Thirst, the first book in this author’s new series about energy vampires
was interesting, it didn’t satiate my thirst (see what I did there?) for this genre. It was a good book; but not a great one.

Here’s a list of what I liked and what I didn’t about Thirst:

Positives: The premised introduced a twist on the vampire tale, not only because those vampires had a different source of food (energy), but because they were created in a different way (can’t say much because of spoilers). The characters were likable enough. The MC was strong, both physically and mentally. She asked the right questions and acted in a way that made sense. She wasn’t silly or naïve to the point where I was rolling my eyes, which often happens with main characters in paranormal stories. The love interest – the energy vampire – was kind, reasonable and Portuguese, which made him even more interesting to me.

Could’ve been better: I missed a good villain. There was a villain, but he wasn’t remarkable or interesting enough, in my opinion. For a paranormal romance, I expected much more in the heat and sexiness level. The main couple lacked chemistry and their romance was sort of insta-lovey. But the thing that bothered me the most in this book were the major POV shifts. The story is told in third person, with segments alternating between the male and female main character’s POV… or so it was supposed to me, but there were major segments where the POV simply shifted from one person to the other. That’s a big no-no to me.

Overall, the pacing worked, which means the story was likable enough. It just lacked that extra factor to keep me truly invested.
*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Book Traveling Thursdays - 2016 is coming to an end..

#Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme created by Cátia (The Girl Who Read Too Much) and Danielle (Danielle's Book Blog) and hosted on this Goodreads group.

Come join us!

This week's theme is: 

2016 is coming to an end...
"Choose a book you want to read in 2017"

My choice for the week is

by Stephanie Garber

Original| Dutch

So, what do you think about these covers? Have you read this book? Share you opinion bellow.

#December Book Challenge - Day 29 - Book You Finally Read This Year

#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads. I thought I'd give it a try, but I can't make big promises because this is my first challenge and December is a pretty busy month. Let's see how far I can get. 

#29 - Book You Finally Read This Year

Title: The Hating Game
Author: Sally Thorne
Publication date: August 9th, 2016
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

I didn't read any book I'd been dying to read for a long time, but I was one of the last to read The Hating Game (or so it seemed based on my Twitter and Goodreads feed), so it felt like one of those "FINALLY!" moments for me.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

#December Book Challenge - Day 28 - Last Read of 2016

#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads. I thought I'd give it a try, but I can't make big promises because this is my first challenge and December is a pretty busy month. Let's see how far I can get. 

#28 - Last Read of 2016

Title: Under the Rose-Tainted Skies
Author: Louise Gornall
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2017
Category/Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

For now, this is my choice, since it's the book I'm currently reading, but we'll see...

Cover Reveal - The Do-Over by Julie A. Richman

Title: The Do-Over
Author: Julie A. Richman
Publication date: January 26th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance

The Do Over full wrap.jpg

~ Sometimes, one degree is all that separates you from the one you were meant to be with ~
Wes Bergman was sex on a stick.

We’d been circling one another our entire lives, mingling at the same clubs... attending the same events…sharing mutual acquaintances…yet we’d never actually met.

Until . . . we both boarded a Windjammer Cruise in the Caribbean. And it was like meeting my long, lost best friend for the first time. I hadn’t ever connected with a guy that way before. But Wes had a girlfriend. So, when the week was over, he walked off the ship, unknowingly taking a piece of my heart with him.

Now, over a decade later, newly divorced, I’m the proverbial fish out of water. Dating has totally changed. Apps. Swipe left. Swipe right. Catfishing. Men my age want two things: twenty-five-year-olds—like my ex’s new child bride of a wife—or just a quick hook-up.

After a string of bad dates, I finally did something I never thought I’d do. I had a hot one-night stand with a really handsome guy I met online who didn’t even know my real name.

Turned out Mr. Fling is a big shot for my company’s newest client. And just my luck, that client’s CEO is none other than . . . Wes Bergman. Now I’m separated by one degree again from the man who stole my heart. And Mr. Fling could destroy my chance of what I want most –
A Do-Over with Wes.

Pre-Order Links: iBooks
USA Today Bestselling author Julie A. Richman is a native New Yorker living deep in the heart of Texas. A creative writing major in college, reading and writing fiction has always been a passion. Julie began her corporate career in publishing in NYC and writing played a major role throughout her career as she created and wrote marketing, advertising, direct mail and fundraising materials for Fortune 500 corporations, advertising agencies and non-profit organizations. She is an award winning nature photographer plagued with insatiable wanderlust. Julie and her husband have one son and a white German Shepherd named Juneau.

Author Links: Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

#T5W - Top 5 Wednesday - Characters You'd Invite to Your New Year's Eve Party

#T5W or Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey & hosted on the Goodreads T5W group. Come join us!

This week's theme is: 
Characters You'd Invite to Your New Year's Eve Party

These are all characters on my "We-should-be-friends" list on Goodreads

#Ella & The Royal Boys
(Because they know how to party)
from Paper Princess by Erin Watt
#Every member of The Crew
(Because they are perfect together)
from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
#Rhysand's Friends
(See above)
from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
#Jericho Barrons
(Because I can't have a party and not invite my husband)
from Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning
So, what do you think about these choices? Have you read any of them? Share you opinion bellow