Recent Posts

Friday, September 22, 2017

Cover Reveal - Defiant Attraction by V.K. Torston

InfoBanner
Title: Defiant Attraction
Author: V.K. Torston
Age Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary/Erotic Romance
Release Date: November 16th, 2017
DefiantAttractionFrontCover
Dan might be the enemy of my enemy, but I’m not sure that makes him my friend. He’s definitely not my ‘step brother’, no matter what everyone at school says. Honestly, I don’t know what he’s supposed to be to me. Or what he’s becoming…
Fact: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.
In the yearbook, I’ll be Sophia Ramos: Valedictorian. Years of honor roll certificates, AP classes, and lugging around an obnoxiously large cello case are about to finally pay off. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll escape these decaying suburbs for a top university across the country.
The problem? A few years ago, my mom met someone just as broke, just as drunk, and just as impulsive as she is. Approximately five seconds into their relationship, they decided it would be an excellent idea for him—and his son, Dan—to move in with us. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t).
Now I share a house with none other than Daniel Cole. Even though Dan dropped out two years ago, he’s still the tattooed, bad boy, heartthrob, legend of St. Anthony’s Academy. He and I aren’t supposed to have anything in common.
Living together means war. First, Dan and I were at war with each other. Now, our rivalry is giving way to an unlikely alliance—two opposing sides teaming up against a common enemy: our respective parents.
Which is to say, we’ve been hanging out.
Question: What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object?
Here’s the thing: My brain is a complex organ. One hundred billion neurons, each with an average of seven thousand synaptic connections to other neurons. My brain is my ticket out of here.
My heart, by contrast, is a pump. It moves blood around.
I know Dan is off-limits. I know I shouldn’t do something I’ll regret. And I know how much is at stake (my family, my future).
So why can’t I stop thinking about him? Those inscrutable jade eyes. The smile that can say a thousand different things at once. That tattoo curving across his abs…
Even though I know better, I feel that pounding in my chest. And it’s getting harder to ignore.
But if I follow my heart, I can never go back.
Answer: There is no such thing as an immovable object.


goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

vkheadshot
V.K. Torston is a millennial and ‘cool aunt’ to a brood of nieces and nephews. She was born and raised in San Francisco, attended university in New York City, and aspires to one day live in London. A veteran of the independent music scene, she began writing nonfiction in her late teens. Then she realized that making up stories was way more fun than coming up with endless synonyms for ‘frenetic’ and ‘danceable.’ Her hobbies include drinking too much coffee, making up stupid songs, and ranting about current events. Defiant Attraction is her first novel.

Twitter: @vktorston Website: www.vktorston.com Goodreads Author Page

Blog Tour & Review - King of Code by CD Reiss

SBPRBanner-KoC-BT
TitleKing of Code
Author: CD Reiss 
Publication Date: September 18th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

king-of-Code-v4-full

From New York Times Bestselling author, CD Reiss, comes a sexy tale of secrets, intrigue, betrayal, and a love worth crossing a continent for.

Taylor Harden is a man on the edge.

The edge of fame. The edge of untold wealth.

The edge of utter humiliation.

He built an unhackable system, and in front of everyone, it’s hacked.

His reputation goes from king to goat in a split second. Boom. Like that.

Some dude in Barrington, USA (AKA Nowhere) has locked down Taylor’s code, and if he doesn’t get it back, he’s going to be wearing a monkey suit for the rest of his life.

Except, this guy? This hacker from Nowhere? He’s not a guy.

Harper Watson’s all woman. And she has a plan for Taylor, his code, and his body.

KING OF CODE AN.jpg

Read Today!

Amazon Print: http://amzn.to/2szX9na
Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/68zRuf
“About time!” the older lady shouted. 

“Is Harper back?” I asked, handing the bags to the blushing redhead. 

As if summoned, Harper came through the swinging door, keeping it open so everyone could get past. She looked at me through the screen. 

“You coming in?” she asked. 

“We need to talk.” 

“Did the decryption key work?” 

The door slapped closed behind her as she came out, and we were alone. The way the setting sun hit her cheeks made her glow, and the strands of gold hair at the edges looked translucent. She belonged on a postcard. I kept forgetting she was holding me hostage. I kept forgetting I needed to think strategically. I had more at stake with this girl than I’d ever had with another. 

“Did you doubt it would work?” 

“Not really. I’m just making conversation.” 

“What are the thorns about?” I pointed at the thorn bed that had eaten my phone and went down the stairs to the yard. 

She came after me. “Don’t you have these where you’re from?” She snapped a dry twig off the end. 

“Roses? Yes. Impenetrable, groomed thorn bushes in our yards? No.” 

“It’s not normal to give the gardeners in town something to do?” We walked around the perimeter. 

“You are not normal.” 

“It still blooms in spring. It’s really nice. You should see it.” 

We were at the back end of the yard, where the very top of the factory’s roof cut the horizon.

I took her hand, pulling her to a stop. “Harper.” 

“Taylor?” Her hair flew in her mouth when she turned, and she drew her finger across her cheek to get it out. 

What was I supposed to tell her again? That I knew we’d interviewed her. That I didn’t give her the job despite her having a leg up on everyone else we saw. 

But was I contrite? Accusatory? Was I just going to relay information? What did I want out of her after I told her I knew? 

“Thank you for helping today,” she said. “If you’d asked me when we met, ‘Would Taylor Harden help clean the factory?’ I would have said, ‘No, not for any reason.’ But there you were. Pushing a broom. Scooping up shit. Not being an asshole.” 

“My watch was at stake.” 

“Yeah. Whatever. You can say what you want to keep your reputation as a shithead intact.”

“I have a reputation as a shithead?”

“You know you do.” I did know it, and I reveled in it. 

She faced me and put her other hand out. I took it, holding both hands between us. I couldn’t help it. 

“Well, you guys are such a bunch of sad sacks I had to help. And let me tell you, every guy in Barrington has a little asshole in him. Trust me. I’ve played pool with them.” 

“I want to say…” She stopped herself as if she really didn’t want to say. “Let’s get together tonight and get you another decryption code. But… saying this is stupid.” She bit her lip.

“Say it anyway.” 

“The sooner you get four codes, the sooner you leave.” 

I looked at our hands so I wouldn’t have to look at her.

“I’m not sure if I want that,” she said.


3 Held.png
3 “Hacking His Life” Stars

ARC provided by the author

Thank you!!

King of Code is my first CD Reiss book, and I have to say I'm intrigued.

This book caught my attention with its unique premise: a computer genius who built an unhackable system that gets hacked before its release finds out the person responsible is a hot woman.

Hello, Felicity!



King of Code also intrigued me with its choice of POV. We get the entire book from the male POV as Taylor takes us to Barrington (Nowhere)/USA in search of the hacker who's destroying his work and, if we're being dramatic, his life. When he gets there, Taylor's POV also allows us a first role seat into the "kill her"/"kiss her" drama when he meets stunning Harper and finds out she was the one who hacked him. It was a fun ride to be, especially when he couldn't decide if he liked or hated her while they were doing it.

Another thing I enjoyed about this book was how it linked Taylor and Harper to the people around them. There were a lot of people counting on Taylor and the new company that was supposed to make them all super rich. As for Harper, the entire town of Barrington seemed to be counting on her to get them out of that dark hole. Both had too much on their shoulders and did questionable things to reach their goals, which made the whole thing more interesting.

It's hard to say much about King of Code without ruining the mystery, so I'll keep the review short. The writing was good, even though some of the computer/code language confused me because I know nothing about this. The characters were complex and had a lot to loose, which made them interesting to me. And though I wish the romance had developed in a different way, there was chemistry between Taylor and Harper.

After having read King of Code, I can say I'm interested in seeing what this author writes next.
_21A6258_pp-fb

CD Reiss is a New York Times bestseller. She still has to chop wood and carry water, which was buried in the fine print. Her lawyer is working it out with God but in the meantime, if you call and she doesn't pick up she's at the well hauling buckets. Born in New York City, she moved to Hollywood, California to get her master's degree in screenwriting from USC. In case you want to know, that went nowhere but it did give her a big enough ego to write novels. She's frequently referred to as the Shakespeare of Smut which is flattering but hasn't ever gotten her out of chopping that cord of wood. If you meet her in person, you should call her Christine. 

Connect with CD Reiss:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2iwpkPQ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CDReiss.writer/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/cdreisswriter Instagram: https://instagram.com/cdreiss/ Website: www.cdreiss.com Newsletter: https://cdreiss.com/cd-reiss-mailing-list-signup/

Thursday, September 21, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Blog Tour & Review - Sledgehammer (Hard to Love #2) by P. Dangelico

Title: Sledgehammer 
(Hard to Love #2)
Author: P. Dangelico
Publication date: September 11th, 2017
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Amber Jones is in a pickle. And when I say pickle, I mean deep do-do. She knew she shouldn’t have gone to her ex’s New Year’s Eve party. And she reeeaally didn’t mean to almost burn down his house. It was the chafing dish’s fault, dang it! Now she needs a good lawyer, stat. But where to find one? 

 All work and no play make Ethan Vaughn a very sad and lonely lawyer. Not to mention horny. He really shouldn’t have agreed to help his best friend’s wife’s bestie with her imbroglio. Now she’s remanded on bail––and living in his house. The woman is a walking, talking category five hurricane. And considering his track record with women, he needs to stay as far away from this one as possible. Problem is, he just can’t seem to make himself.


Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks


Cam DeSantis’ life is a hot, steaming pile. How else would you describe losing your husband, your job, and your money all at once? Desperate times call for desperate measures, so when salvation comes in the form of one intolerable a-hole, who just happens to be the starting quarterback for the vaunted NY Titans, she has no choice but to accept his offer as a live-in nanny slash teacher for his eight year old nephew. Now all she has to do is find a safe place in her mind to hide whenever she feels the need to throat punch him into tomorrow…which is often.

Calvin Shaw has zero interest in women. Wait, wait––let me rephrase that. He loves women, he just doesn’t want anything to do with ‘um. Not since his wife, presently ex-wife, got knocked up by the guy she was cheating on him with. Problem is––there’s one living in his house. And he doesn’t know what’s worse, that he promised to be civil, or that he’s attracted to her.

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

P. Dangelico loves romance in all forms, shapes, and sizes, cuddly creatures (four legged and two), really bloody sexy pulp, the NY Jets (although she’s reconsidering after this season), and to while away the day at the barn (apparently she does her best thinking shoveling horse crap). What she’s not enamored with is referring to herself in the third person and social media so don’t expect her to get on Twitter anytime soon. Oh, and although she was born in Italy, she’s been Jersey Strong since she turned six.



4.5 “Slow burning me” Stars

ARC via NetGalley

Thank you!!!!

Last year, I was going through a reading slump when I started Wrecking Ball, the first book in the Hard to Love series (P.S.: the series title is wrong, because these books are nothing if easy to love). The same thing was happening when I decided to start Sledgehammer. The result was the same: I’m now cured.

I was going to wait to start this book until next week because I have other ARCs that needed my immediate attention due to their release dates, but all the books I’ve read for the past few days have failed to WOW me. Some I liked more, others less, but nothing stuck with me, even though other people have loved them.

That’s the thing about this reading business: subjectivity rules. Sometimes I have a hard time explaining why a story didn’t work for me. All the elements were there, but nothing did it for me. Other times, a simply story has this extra sparkle and I’m done for. Sledgehammer fits in this last category.

If you haven’t figured it out by now I am absolutely, irrevocably in love with this book.


To be completely honest, I went into this knowing I’d probably enjoy the heck out of it. The blurb is great. The first book was amazing. P. Dangelico has a whole Mariana Zapata vibe with her slow burn romances. So, yeah, it was a recipe for success. But the thing is, I didn’t just like it. I inhaled, breathed, lived and died with it. It gave me all the FEELS, to the point I had to take a break because I was hyperventilating. And I’ll tell you this. Although I loved, loved, looovveeedddd Amber, the guilty party here is Ethan Vaughn.

Ethan Freaking Vaughn.


Book boyfriend Ethan Vaughn was amazing. A-mazing. Everything I needed and a little more. The angst was alive and real and making my chest burn because this dude, the things this dude did, the way he spoke, the dirty talk, the proclamation of love…. Every-freaking-thing was perfection. I don’t care if you disagree. I don’t. He was it for me. 




When he went all “I’m going to make it impossible for you to leave me” (in a not creepy way, I have to add, because out of context this might sound creepy), I swear my heart did a funny thing. I’m not joking. It just got to me in a way that it’s hard to explain.

Then, he went all “I wanted a little more time with you” because he needed “To show you how much I love you”, I nearly had a heart attack because nothing gets to me more than a man so desperately in love, and Ethan was desperately in love. It even made him stupid—because what he did was stupid. A little romantic, too. Stupidly romantic. Amber was totally right to be pissed, even though it broke my heart to see how devastated he was.

Finally, Ethan killed me and buried me with his love speech:

“I love you,” he says, his voice calm and steady while his eyes burn brightly with longing, my face still in his reverent hold. “And…” He exhale harshly. “And not the flowers and dinner on Valentine’s kind of love. It’s not soft or sweet. The way I love you is… is—“ His face twists in frustration. “It’s fucking painful. When you’re not near me I feel like Popovitch is sitting on my chest and I can’t breathe.”


So, yeah. I’m dead. This guy killed me.



I don’t even care that the whole “I’ll post her bail and let her live with me” thing sounded a little weird. Does that even happen in real life? I’m not sure, but who cares? Because that landed them exactly where I needed them to be. Together. Living under the same roof. Getting to know each other, and OMG the slow burn. The “we don’t like each other” to the “we’re friends” to the “we can’t get enough of each other” gave me life. Slow burn is my thing. The more I read authors like P. Dangelico and Mariana Zapata, the more I’m convinced I want, need and will give all my money for hot, real and well-done slow burn.

Now, Amber… This chick was awesome. I knew I’d love her when I highlighted the first paragraph and wrote: “YES!!! VOIIIICEEE!” I know the concept of voice is a little hard to grasp (at least I have a hard time explaining it), but when it’s there, you just can’t miss it. It sort of hits you in the face and gives you pause. It happened here. I read one paragraph and I knew I’d love Amber because her voice got me. She was funny AF, loyal and smart. She was also surprisingly down to Earth considering everything that she had gone through. I couldn’t have asked for a better narrator for this story.

I don’t even know what to say about the romance without getting a little spoiler-y. I’ll just say that it developed exactly the way I’d hoped it would. There were tons of bantering, tons of heat, and it went through the three stages that will make a romance extra special for me: a little bit of animosity >> friendship >> love. And I also got a little The Hating Game by Sally Thorne vibe when it came to Ethan, so it was real perfection.

Aside from Ethan, Amber and their romance, I also loved the whole NFL vibe (I’m a fan) and all the side characters. I loved seeing Cam and Calvin living their happy ever after, getting a little bit more of Justin and meeting Amber’s little sis. I even teared up with a minor side character: the driver Ethan hired who’d been out of work for two years. Dude, that got me right in the feels.

This entire book got me right in the feels. It was fabulous. It was everything I wanted, and more than I needed. It’s the reason I’m going to be stalking this author until she releases her next book. P. Dangelico, get back to your computer and start writing your next story because I need it. Right now.

Book Blitz with Giveaway - A Hero To Love (Changing Tides #2) by Gail Chianese

Title: A Hero To Love
(Changing Tides #2)
Author: Gail Chianese
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: August 22nd, 2017


A military police officer on the verge of a new beginning. A beautiful woman devoted to her career and her dream of putting down roots. The hardest thing they’ll ever do is to take a chance on love . . .

Navy Chief Master at Arms Jackson “Jax” Faraday is at a crossroads. He has to decide whether to reenlist or get out while he’s young enough to make a difference in the civilian world. Either choice could mean leaving behind his girl: his K-9 partner, Bella. But when she’s injured during a training session, Jax’s only concern is making sure she’s okay.

As the Navy base veterinarian, town local Risa Reynolds is right where she belongs: close to her parents in a farmhouse full of animals—with room to grow. She’s seen enough to put military men are on her “not happening” list, because they always leave.

But when a tall, hazel-eyed sailor arrives in her clinic with his dog in his arms, Risa finds herself falling hard. And all kinds of rules will get broken when Jax, a man who sticks to the straight and narrow, learns that there’s no predicting the twists and turns of the heart . . .


Gail Chianese's love of reading began at the tender age of three, when she'd make her grandpa read Fourteen Country Rabbits over and over and over again (and correct him when he skipped parts). While she's branched out over the years by reading mystery, women’s fiction, and urban fantasy, she always circles back to romance in the end. That's probably because she's married to her real life hero. Her wonderful hubby has served in the US Navy for the past twenty two years and he’s done things he can’t tell her about. But it doesn’t stop her from being extremely proud of him and the sacrifices he makes for her, his family, and his country. He’s also uber-supportive of her dreams and of their three children. Living in Mystic, CT and a member of Connecticut Romance Writers of America, Gail loves to hear from readers.

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!


Book Blitz with Giveaway - Jaded: Luke (Laurel Creek #1) by Hildie McQueen

Title: Jaded: Luke
(Laurel Creek Series #1)
Author: Hildie McQueen
Genre: Contemporary Western Romance

Haunted by PTSD and a failed marriage, Luke Hamilton returns home to Laurel, Montana. Going home isn’t an easy fix, but it beats ending up in prison or dead. At first the familiar surroundings and open land seem to set things right, but soon his old demons rear their ugly heads and he realizes it's the wrong time to enter any relationship. 

Leah Morgan’s experience in the corporate world has prepared her to prosper her father’s ranch in Montana. She knows everyone expects her to fail, but nothing will stop her from turning the ranch around and selling it to the highest bidder – especially not a rancher. The quicker she closes the deal, the sooner she can get out of Laurel and move on with her career. 


But when Luke and Leah cross paths, they both discover that starting over can be a complicated business.




Bestselling author Hildie McQueen loves unusual situations and getting into interesting adventures, which is what her characters do as well. She writes romance because she is in love with love! Author of Romance in Highland historical, Western Historical and contemporary, she writes something every reader can enjoy.


Most days she can be found in her pajamas hiding from deliverymen while drinking tea from her David Gandy coffee mug. In the afternoons she browses the Internet for semi-nude men to post on Facebook.


Hildie's favorite past-times are romance conventions, traveling, shopping and reading.

She resides in beautiful small town Georgia with her super-hero husband Kurt, an unruly boy Chihuahua Pepito and a spoiled rotten girl Chiweenie named Lola.



Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!


Wednesday, September 20, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Blog Tour & Review - Acting On Impulse by Mia Sosa



Title: Acting on Impulse
(Love on Cue #1)
Author: Mia Sosa
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: September 19th, 2017
Genre:  Adult Contemporary Romance

After a very public breakup with a media-hungry politician, fitness trainer Tori Alvarez escapes to Aruba for rest, relaxation, and copious amounts of sex on the beach—the cocktail, that is. She vows to keep her vacation a man-free zone… but when a cute guy is seated next to her on the plane, Tori can’t resist a little harmless flirting.


Hollywood heartthrob Carter Stone underwent a dramatic physical transformation for his latest role and it’s clear his stunning seat mate doesn’t recognize the man beneath the shaggy beard and extra lean frame. Now Carter needs help rebuilding his buff physique and Tori is perfect for the job. It doesn’t hurt that she makes his pulse pound in more ways than one.

Sparks are flying, until a pesky paparazzo reveals Carter’s identity. Tori is hurt and pissed. She wants nothing to do with another man in the limelight, but she’s still got to whip him into shape. Can Carter convince Tori he’s worth the threat to her privacy that comes with dating a famous actor, or will Tori chisel him down to nothing before he even gets the chance?
Grab the popcorn . . .

Buy from HCBuy from AmazonBuy from Barnes   Noble

Buy from GoogleBuy from WalmartBuy from iBooks


As I crawl into the tiny space—it’s been a while since I’ve traveled coach class—I catch a whiff of her scent and close my eyes. Not sure if it’s perfume, body wash, or what, but it smells like vanilla and reminds me of the candles my mother used to buy at the local craft store. That right there is a sign. My mother would most heartily approve of this woman.
Now to find out her name.
I turn in my seat, prepping myself for a short conversation—too much too soon isn’t part of the playbook—but then I realize she’s not next to me. I raise myself off the cushion and pretend to stretch as I turn my head to scan the back of the plane. She’s a few rows back, standing and chatting with a guy who doesn’t appear to have anyone sitting next to him.
Oh, hell no.
Do I have to go to the restroom? You bet.
Before I stand, a bell rings and a flight attendant announces that there will be a short delay while the ground crew clears debris from the runway. Perfect.
I rise and make my way through the aisle, pushing down the bill of my baseball cap so no one notices me. But, of course, someone does. For all the wrong reasons.
A little girl with huge brown eyes and a mop of bright red hair tugs on her mother’s shirt and says, “Mommy, that man looks like a bear.”
The cutie’s pronouncement is loud enough that several nearby passengers chuckle. Even the object of my fascination turns and laughs. I grin at the kid, and she growls in her best imitation of a bear. So freaking adorable, that girl. Enjoying her fascination with my beard, I channel my inner Leonardo DiCaprio and growl right back.
Now I’ve done it.
The little girl’s eyes go round, and her eyes water. Then she lets out a shriek like the hounds of hell are chasing her. Unfortunately, I’m the hounds, and everyone on the plane, including my future wife, knows it.
The girl’s mother tries to quiet her, rocking her and telling her everything will be okay. Their seatmate, meanwhile, throws daggers at me with his eyes.
“He’s so scary looking,” the little girl chants over and over into her mother’s chest.
“Sir,” the flight attendant says behind me, “we’re getting ready to take off soon. Could you please return to your seat?”
Bewildered by the past ten minutes of my life, I nod and amble back to my row. How the hell did things go south that quickly? Fantasy woman returns, and my stomach drops when I catch the look of sympathy on her face. I slide down into my seat, give her a pathetic smile, and cover my face with my baseball cap as though I’m settling in for a nap. I need to regroup before I can speak to her. And I refuse to listen to the preflight safety demonstration unless the attendant can teach me how to save me from myself.
So now I know another thing: Whatever I tell my kids about how I met their mother, it’s going to be a lie. A big, fat fucking lie.
4 “Take me to Aruba” Stars

ARC provided by the author

Thank you!!

Looking for a fun, sexy, refreshing read with a sassy Latina main character and a swoony Hollywood love interest? Then you got it. Even if you weren’t looking for exactly that, you still want to read Acting on Impulse. Trust me.

I read my first Mia Sosa book last year, and I truly enjoyed how she wrote what I called “realistic romances”. For me, those are stories you can see yourself or someone you know living. Instead of that big drama that I love in angst reads, in Mia Sosa’s books I always find relatable problems/situations that I believe most women can find themselves into. Even though Acting on Impulse featured a Hollywood star as the love interest, the way he met and fell in love with the main character was still fairly “normal” (not impossible to happen).

Honestly, I think there’s something special about authors who can write sexy, swoony romances that are still relatable.

And Acting on Impulse had all of that.

For me, the fun element was the one I noticed first. The first chapter is written from Hollywood heartthrob Carter Stone’s POV, and the voice was light, funny and sexy.


There was insta-lust when he first sees fitness trainer Tori Alvarez on the plane, but I didn’t mind it because it didn’t feel like he was taking it too seriously. The way he called her “his future” wife and kept thinking about how he’d tell this story to their grandchildren was sort of adorable, and a lot less creepy than one might think. The main reason it worked for me was because of the sweet and fun theme that followed the story from start to finish, and also because Carter was a real sweetheart and being inside his head was a pleasure.

Tori’s POV chapters were also extremely enjoyable. She was a smart, confident and funny woman, and she made me smile and laugh quite a lot. She was sassy in a non-annoying way, which, trust me, isn’t easy to pull off.


Another thing I enjoyed about Tori was how centered and matured she acted. When I thought she’d freak out over something, she found a composed and mature way to deal with it—be it her problems with her family, her relationship with Carter, her breakup with her ex or even the annoying reporters. It helped keep the story light, and it didn’t hurt the fun element, because the heart of the story wasn’t the drama, but the romance.

And I loved the romance. It was refreshing to see how it started—as two strangers forming some sort of heated friendship in a hot location. Side note: this story left me craving a visit to Aruba! It was even more refreshing to see how it developed. Everyone knows I’m a fan of slow burn, and this had a little bit of it. Even though Tori and Carter were dying to jump in bed, they kept their hands to each other for a while, and that only made me want to see them together more. A little torture is good for this romance-reader heart.

One last thing I want to say about this story is how the ending surprised me. I thought Carter’s movie plot was going to go one way, but it ended up being completely different from what I expected. He got his happy ending in all aspects of his life, obviously, but not in an obvious way.


Overall, Acting on Impulse was another win for me when it comes to Mia Sosa’s books, and I’m extremely happy I got the chance to read it.



Mia Sosa is an award-winning contemporary romance writer and 2015 Romance Writers of America® Golden Heart® Finalist. Her books have received praise and recognition from Library Journal, The Washington Post, Book Riot, Bustle, The Book List Reader, and more.

A former First Amendment and media lawyer, Mia practiced for more than a decade before trading her suits for loungewear (okay, okay, they’re sweatpants). Now she strives to write fun and flirty stories about imperfect characters finding their perfect match.
Mia lives in Maryland with her husband, their two daughters, and an adorable puppy who finally sleeps through the night. For more information about Mia and her books, visit www.miasosa.com

websitefacebooktwittergoodreadsAmazon icon

Celebration Giveaway!
To celebrate the release of ACTING ON IMPULSE, the author is giving away a $25 gift card!  ENTER NOW!

PTPR New Logo - Email 2