Recent Posts

Friday, December 15, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Review - The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: The Problem with Forever
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Age Category/Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publication Date: May 17th, 2016
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
 
A story about friendship, survival and finding your voice
Growing up, Mallory Dodge learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it's been four years since her nightmare ended, she's beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime. Now, after years of homeschooling, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at a public high school. But she never imagined she'd run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn't seen since childhood, on her very first day. 

It doesn't take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet soon it becomes apparent that she's not the only one grappling with lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider's life spiral out of control, Mallory must make a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants and the truths that need to be heard.


Buy Links: Amazon


4.5 “Forever” Stars

This was much more touching and beautiful than I expected.

It’d been a while since I’d last read anything by this author, but I knew I could count on her to write amazing romances and shippable couples. The Problem with Forever had that and much more.

A book about a main character who has gone through a horrible childhood and has had difficulty speaking as a result of those traumas, this book and its overall message really touched me.

I loved, loved, loved Mallory. Everything about her worked for me. Just the way she thought and saw the world was enough to make me fall in love with her. There were so many situations where I saw myself in her.

I loved how brave she was. I loved how, despite fearing so much, she faced those fears in a way that was almost as quiet as her, but was just as effective. How she was honest with her adoptive parents when lying was a much easier path. How she enrolled in a speech class when speaking was so hard for her. How she took the opportunity to make friends when it was presented to her, despite having little experience with it. I don’t think Mallory realized her brave she was, and I loved how the author chose to portray her that way because it made her finding her voice a much more special journey.

And what a journey it was. Mallory learned so much about who she was, and grew so much from the first to the last page of this book, that I felt like I grew with her. And growing for Mallory didn’t equal becoming someone else, which was something I truly appreciated. As an introvert myself, I loved that she was still quiet and shy and a work-in-progress (as she called herself) in the end of this book, but it still felt like she had truly evolved.

Another huge reason I loved Mallory was because of how respectful of Rider’s relationship she was. It’s rare for me to find a book that has the “love interest has a girlfriend/boyfriend” trope and manages to not turn the main character into a home wrecker. Authors normally resort to girl-hate (making the girlfriend a horrible person who doesn’t deserve the love interest) or cheating, and those two are no-no for me. None of that was present here.

Mallory saw the way Rider’s girlfriend warned her to back off her boyfriend as what it was and she never made a move on Rider while he was in a relationship. I loved all those little internals where she questioned her actions, worrying if they were going to be interpreted in the wrong way, or when she policed herself so she wouldn’t show him her feelings for him. It was such a mature way to handle the whole thing, and for someone so young, it only made me admire Mallory more.

It also made me admire Rider, because despite being so obviously in love with Mallory, he didn’t do anything that could be considered cheating. He broke it off with his girlfriend and he seemed to be truly devastated by that, because he didn’t want to hurt the girl. He was respectful of both of them.

Since I’m already talking about the romance, let me just say: OMG, I was so involved in Rider and Mallory from the very beginning. The whole falling in love with my best friend, who also happens to be the little boy who used to save me from our abusive foster parents, who also happens to have become such a hot guy in the years we were apart, who also calls me by a special nickname, had me swooning so hard. Dude. Those two together were perfection and everything about it worked. Everything.

Other things that worked in this book: Mallory’s relationship with her adoptive parents and how she showed them that she was grateful for everything they did, but she was always her own person, which meant she couldn’t agree with everything they wanted just to make them happy. Mallory’s friendship with Jayden (tears here because that scene with Hector saying “That’s my brother?” over and over broke me) and Ainsley (OMG, her arc also broke my heart—and I need her with Hector). Mallory’s hobby and career aspirations. The speech teacher making a difference in his student's lives. Everything Mallory. Everything Rider too, because he was pretty awesome and so respectful and such a boyfriend material, and because life was not easy on him but he still turned out more than okay. And because he finally realized he mattered--and I'm going to stop because I'm getting emotional now.

Basically, the cute, adorable, swoony romance was something I’d come to expect from this author, but this book surprised me with how beautiful it was, how perfect the message was, how amazing the love interest was and how much I loved the protagonist.

*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

#December Book Challenge 2017 - Day 9 - Book With a Magical Setting


#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads
Check my 2016 challenge here!



#9- Book With a Magical Setting


Title: Caraval
(Caraval #1)
Author: Stephanie Garber
Publication date: January 31st, 2017
Category/Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Flatiron Books

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

#December Book Challenge 2017 - Day 8 - Books I Reread


#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads
Check my 2016 challenge here!



#7 - Books I Reread

 




The Fever Series
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Age Category/Genre: Adult Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Delacorte Press

Review here


Title: Wrecking Ball
(Hard to Love #1)
Author: P. Dangelico
Publication date: January 19th, 2016
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Review here


Title: Wicked Heart
(Starcrossed #3)
Author: Leisa Rayven
Publication Date: May 17th, 2016

St. Martin's Griffin
Category/Genre: Contemporary Romance

Review here

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

#December Book Challenge 2017 - Day 7 - New Favorite Characters


#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads
Check my 2016 challenge here!



#7 - New Favorite Characters


Book Girlfriend: Jules
  Title: The Feeling of Forever
(Love Unplugged #2)
Author: Jamie Howard
Publication Date: February 7th, 2017
Age Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Swerve

Review here


Book Girlfriend: Sophie
Book Boyfriend: Gabriel
Title: Managed
(VIP #2)
Author: Kristen Callihan
Publication date: November 14th, 2016
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Monday, December 11, 2017

Release & Review - Over Us, Over You by Whitney G.

Image and blurb from Goodreads
Title: Over Us, Over You
Author: Whitney G.
Release Date: December 7th, 2017
Age Category/ Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
From New York Times bestselling author Whitney G. comes a falling for my older brother’s best friend romance.

Subject: Delete this message after you read it...

Dear Hayley,

I'm assuming you're still hungover, so I'll make this brief.

Last night, you slipped under my sheets (without my permission), and we almost had sex. I got the hell out of the bed once I realized it was you, and I took you home.

That's the story.

The end.

Period. 

Just in case you've forgotten, you're my best friend's little sister. We will never be anything more. (We can't be anything more.) Our previous friendship is still unresolved--or "over" in your terms, so I'd prefer if we worked on becoming 'just friends' again since you're in town.

Nonetheless, I'm not a man who leaves questions unanswered--even the drunken ones, so to properly close our inappropriate conversation:

1) Yes, I liked the way your lips felt against mine when you were on top of me.
2) Yes, I do "prefer" rough sex, but I'm pretty sure I wasn't rough with you.
3) No, I had no idea you were still a virgin...

This message never happened,
Corey



Buy Links: Amazon

2 “What happened?” Stars

Even though I think I haven’t reviewed them, I’ve read a few novels and novellas by this author, and I’ve enjoyed them. But this book was a complete mess. I can barely believe this was written by the same author as Sincerely, Carter, which I really liked.

I first heard about Over Us, Over You a few weeks ago during the cover reveal tour, and I was so excited to see it was a “falling for my best friend’s little sister” romance. I patiently waited for its release, but it disappointed me beyond words.

First, Hayley is one of the most irritating, unlikable, immature main characters I’ve read about in a while. She’s supposed to be in her mid-twenties (I think), but she sounds like a spoiled fifteen-year-old.

I was initially okay with her despite the fact that she took the money her brother sent to pay college tuition and invested in a small café business that didn’t survive a few months. It was a little silly and immature, but okay, I was willing to overlook that because she made it sound like she’d worked hard to make it work, but had been unlucky. I was wrong. After getting to know Hayley a bit better, I realized she was simply lazy and not all that smart.

Hayley really got on my nerve when, after losing her business and getting thrown out of her apartment, she decided to go back to San Francisco and ask her brother for help. Her big brother, who also happened to be super overprotective and a self-made millionaire. Oh, that’s when Hayley shows her true colors. Her brother doesn’t hesitate to get her on a private plane, get her  freaking huge house and create a position for her at his company. A company he built from nothing. What does Hayley do? Refuse to move into the house until her friend and former business partner comes to town—a friend who’ll also be getting a job at Hayley’s brother’s company simply because Hayley asked for it. There’s some excuse about how Hayley has problems sleeping so she doesn’t want to be alone in the house, but honestly, none of it is explained in a way that makes much sense. Hayley obviously doesn’t care that she’s creating a problem for her brother and instead of trying to fix her situation, she waits for him to do so, which leads him to ask his best friend (the love interest) to take Hayley in.

Does Hayley seem grateful for that? Not really. Does she go on and respect that rules Corey, the best friend who let her stay with him, set for her to live in his house? Not really, either. Were these rules pretty absurd? Sure, but I don’t know about you, but if someone was letting me stay at their place for free, I wouldn’t be wearing their clothes without permission or playing music at night just because I couldn’t sleep. *rolls eyes*

But that wasn’t even my biggest problem with Hayley. Her behavior at work was. Dude! Dude! The woman couldn’t be bothered to get to work on time or do anything useful even when her brother had practically created a position for her so she wouldn’t be sitting home doing nothing. A little appreciation wouldn’t hurt, woman! Just get there on time and do a decent job, at least. Try to show him you’re grateful he’s buying you a house and giving you a car! I can’t understand what the author was thinking when she wrote Hayley the way she did. Between her brother giving her anything she wanted and Corey taking her on private planes for short vacations around the world, she didn’t have to work for anything and she couldn’t even bother to be grateful?! No. I can’t get behind that. A lack of work ethic is something I simply can’t forgive in a protagonist. No one likes leeches.

Corey wasn’t that much better. He had some big jerk moments for no reason, but at least he seemed to have worked hard for his money. And I was honestly too pissed at Hayley to really pay much attention to Corey. On the plus side, I thought the story had a lot of potential judging for their backstory. With the right vision, those two could’ve had a really touching love story.

Another thing that felt extremely off about this story was the dialogue. It was so unrealistic, I can’t even explain how bad it was. There were so many scenes that caused me to roll my eyes and go “I can’t believe this is happening”. I honestly don’t understand what happened here.

I had high hopes for Over Us, Over You, but unfortunately this book didn’t work for me at all.
*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

#December Book Challenge 2017 - Day 6 - Beautifully Written Book


#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads
Check my 2016 challenge here!



#5 - Beautifully Written Book


Title: Flame in the Mist
(Flame in the Mist#1)
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Publication date: May 16th, 2017
Category/Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: G.P. Putman's Son Books for Young Readers

Sunday, December 10, 2017

#December Book Challenge 2017 - Day 5 - New Favorite Author(s)


#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads
Check my 2016 challenge here!



#5 - New Favorite Authors


Mariana Zapata
Queen of Slow Burn
 Title: The Wall of Winnipeg and Me
Age Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: February 28th, 2016

Review here

Angie Thomas
Writer of the best book of the year
Title: The Hate U Give
Publication Date: February 28th, 2017
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Category/Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Saturday, December 09, 2017

#December Book Challenge 2017 - Day 4 - Favorite Book Cover(s) of 2017


#December Book Challenge is an Instagram challenge created by @annreads
Check my 2016 challenge here!


#4 - Favorite Book Cover(s)