Recent Posts

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Release Blitz with Review - Defiant Attraction by V.K. Torston

TwitterBanner
Title: Defiant Attraction
Author: V.K. Torston
Age Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Release Date: November 16th, 2017


Dan might be the enemy of my enemy, but I’m not sure that makes him my friend. He’s definitely not my ‘step brother’, no matter what everyone at school says. Honestly, I don’t know what he’s supposed to be to me. Or what he’s becoming…

Fact: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

In the yearbook, I’ll be Sophia Ramos: Valedictorian. Years of honor roll certificates, AP classes, and lugging around an obnoxiously large cello case are about to finally pay off. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll escape these decaying suburbs for a top university across the country.
The problem? A few years ago, my mom met someone just as broke, just as drunk, and just as impulsive as she is. Approximately five seconds into their relationship, they decided it would be an excellent idea for him—and his son, Dan—to move in with us. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t).
Now I share a house with none other than Daniel Cole. Even though Dan dropped out two years ago, he’s still the tattooed, bad boy, heartthrob, legend of St. Anthony’s Academy. He and I aren’t supposed to have anything in common.
Living together means war. First, Dan and I were at war with each other. Now, our rivalry is giving way to an unlikely alliance—two opposing sides teaming up against a common enemy: our respective parents.
Which is to say, we’ve been hanging out.

Question: What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object?
Here’s the thing: My brain is a complex organ. One hundred billion neurons, each with an average of seven thousand synaptic connections to other neurons. My brain is my ticket out of here.
My heart, by contrast, is a pump. It moves blood around.
know Dan is off-limits. I know I shouldn’t do something I’ll regret. And I know how much is at stake (my family, my future).
So why can’t I stop thinking about him? Those inscrutable jade eyes. The smile that can say a thousand different things at once. That tattoo curving across his abs…
Even though I know better, I feel that pounding in my chest. And it’s getting harder to ignore.
But if I follow my heart, I can never go back.

Answer: There is no such thing as an immovable object.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Buy LinkAmazon

DATeaser_Friction

4 “(Almost) Stepbrother” Stars

ARC provided by the author.

Thank you!

Fans of forbidden romance, welcome and enjoy, because this book is so good.

I had a pretty good idea I’d enjoy this book when I read an excerpt and immediately connect with the main character’s voice. There’s just something special about how Sophia Ramos tells her story, and the more I read, the more I was taken by how eloquent she was without sounding like someone twice her age.

I try to think of each fight like an earthquake--a release of pressure that will make things calmer for a while. I try not to think about how, sometimes, earthquakes cause tsunamis.

Sophia was smart—like “got accepted into Stanford” smart—and she was pretty funny, too. While her academic life was going more than fine, thank you very much, her home life was a mess.

Her mother and “boyfriend/husband” get drunk practically every night and shout in each other’s faces, and Sophia’s only ally inside their house is Dan, her sort of “stepbrother’s”, who also happens to be HOT.

The relationship between Sophia and Dan seem innocent enough at first. I LOOOVED their silly teasing and games. The whole throwing popcorn at each other, filling each other’s pants with ice cubes, making funny faces when no one was looking sort of thing really did it for me. I was laughing out loud and smiling like a goon the whole time.


I also loved how they kept each other company as their parents tried to destroy their houses during their fights. There was something special about these two people that are so different coming together to give each other strength.

But innocent games didn’t last long. This is probably the only thing I wish had gone differently in this story. I wish the transition between friends to “wait, why am I thinking about sexing you” to the actual sexing would’ve been longer. A little slow burn would’ve helped with the tension.

But, yeah, when things heated up, I kind of forgot all about more build up because, damn, they were good together. Like hot and forbidden and dangerous and good!


For those worried about the stepbrother angle, I say don’t. Dan and Sophia hadn’t grown up together and been taught to think of each other as siblings, hence why she calls him an “almost” stepbrother. The biggest forbidden angle for me is the fact that they live under the same roof and have to do a lot of sneaking around a lot (and all of them are really hot, trust me).

The whole “will they or won’t they get caught” kept me turning pages desperately. I don’t know if this book was more on the short side or what, but I read it so freaking fast I couldn’t believe it had already ended.

While Sophia and Dan’s relationship were the focus on the story, I also loved the friendship between Hannah and Sophia. They genuinely cared about each other, and even when things happened that pushed them apart, they found each other again and were pretty mature about fixing their broken friendship.

Another plus is the writing. I really enjoyed the emotions the author managed to bring out in these characters and how realistic the whole story was. It’s hard to find a good, well-written forbidden romance, but this was definitely a winner.

There’s not much more I can say about this book other than, if you’re into New Adult stories and don’t mind a little forbidden romance, then you will not regret reading this.

vkheadshot
V.K. Torston is a millennial and ‘cool aunt’ to a brood of nieces and nephews. She was born and raised in San Francisco, attended university in New York City, and aspires to one day live in London. A veteran of the independent music scene, she began writing nonfiction in her late teens. Then she realized that making up stories was way more fun than coming up with endless synonyms for ‘frenetic’ and ‘danceable.’ Her hobbies include drinking too much coffee, making up stupid songs, and ranting about current events. Defiant Attraction is her first novel.

Twitter: @vktorston Website: www.vktorston.com Goodreads Author Page

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Release & Review - Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: Without Merit
Author: Colleen Hoover
Category/Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2017
Publisher: Atria Books

Not every mistake deserves a consequence. Sometimes the only thing it deserves is forgiveness.

The Voss family is anything but normal. They live in a repurposed church, newly baptized Dollar Voss. The once cancer-stricken mother lives in the basement, the father is married to the mother’s former nurse, the little half-brother isn’t allowed to do or eat anything fun, and the eldest siblings are irritatingly perfect. Then, there’s Merit.

Merit Voss collects trophies she hasn’t earned and secrets her family forces her to keep. While browsing the local antiques shop for her next trophy, she finds Sagan. His wit and unapologetic idealism disarm and spark renewed life into her—until she discovers that he’s completely unavailable. Merit retreats deeper into herself, watching her family from the sidelines when she learns a secret that no trophy in the world can fix.

Fed up with the lies, Merit decides to shatter the happy family illusion that she’s never been a part of before leaving them behind for good. When her escape plan fails, Merit is forced to deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth and losing the one boy she loves.
 


Buy LinkAmazon

4 “Family & Forgiveness” Stars

Since this is CoHo, I knew there’d be major feels involved in reading this book, and as anxious as I was to get my hands on it, my life was a little chaotic when it was released. I’m glad I waited until I had time to savor this story to start it.

Without Merit falls more in the It Ends With Us category of CoHo’s books in the sense that, yes, the romance is still there, but the story is about more than just the main character finding someone to love. It’s still full of drama, angst and imperfect characters, which, for me, are the true marks of anything this author writes, but it’s a little darker, like CoHo’s last book.

Having said that, It Ends With Us is still a much better book than Without Merit. It doesn’t mean that WM isn’t really good (see the 4 stars above), but It Ends With Us was fantastic! That book is on a league of its own, as far as I’m concerned.

Now, CoHo’s new story grabbed my attention from page one. I immediately connected with Merit and the fact that she was different. A little odd, really smart in a non-conventional way, and there was something about her that I couldn’t pinpoint until much later on that spoke to me. As the story evolved and I got a better understanding of who she was and what she was going through, I ended up seeing a little of my teen-self in Merit, and that was what made this book extra special for me. The portrayal of depression in this story hit me right at the feels because it felt authentic and familiar. Depression is so complex and it manifests in so many different ways, and while some may not identify with the way it was shown here, others like me will. For me, Merit’s experience was probably the closest to my own in all books I’ve read so far, so my love for this girl and for the way she handled herself throughout this book comes at no surprise.

Was the book perfect? No. I could identify some problematic ideas when I was reading, and after reading some reviews from friends, I thought back at some things that were said and can agree when they call it problematic, too. *sigh*

I also thought the book had a lot of contradicting ideas. One moment a character was saying something and a few pages later they said the complete opposite. WTF? There was also a lot of info-dump in the first few chapters, which, being familiar with CoHo’s writing style, surprised me. But CoHo’s writing kept that addictive quality, which means I pushed through the info-dump segments and, looking back now, I can see the importance of the information given in the beginning. We needed it to understand Merit and her family better. I still wish it’d been given in a different, more dynamic way, though.

All that aside, Without Merit was, as all CoHo’s books I’ve read so far, a story about complex characters. And damn if the Voss family wasn’t that and more. From Merit’s obsession with trophies, to the triangle between her mom, dad and stepmother, to the fact that they lived in a building that used to be a church, everything was over the top in a way that simply worked. I caught myself thinking “How can so many troubled people be part of the same family?” and “How can Merit be so unlucky?” over and over, but somehow it all worked.

It worked because it evoked feelings. I laughed, then my heart broke for Merit, then I fell in love with how mature Sagan was at times, and fanned myself during the kissing and making out scenes, then teared up with Wolfgang, and gasped when family secrets were revealed, and teared up again when siblings forgave each other, and laughed and swooned a little more.


But, really, there’s no surprise there. This is one of the reasons I love CoHo so much. She always takes me on a roller coaster ride.

*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Book Bitz with Giveaway - Tempting Irish (Wild Irish #2) by C.M. Seabrook

Title: Tempting Irish
(Wild Irish #2)
Author: C.M. Seabrook

Genre: New Adult Romance

One rock god. One girl from his past. One ocean that can't keep them apart.



I've been in love with Owen Gallagher since I was twelve years old. Before the world knew his name.



Even though it's been years since I've been back to Ireland, I never forgot my Irish crush. The boy who saved me from his bully of a brother is now a dark, sexy, tattooed rock star who shreds the guitar like a true master.

A night of anonymity.

One night to live my forbidden fantasies.

He'll be furious when he finds out my true identity. But I'm not the same, shy little girl he remembers, and I have every intention of tempting my own Wild Irish.

Dreaming about a rock god is one thing, but I'm chasing that dream across an ocean.


Amazon bestselling author C.M. Seabrook writes hot, steamy romances with possessive bad boys, and the passionate, fiery women who love them. Swoonworthy romances from the heart!

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!





Monday, November 13, 2017

Book Blitz - The Fragile Thread of Hope by Pankaj Giri

Title: The Fragile Thread of Hope
AuthorPankaj Giri
Publication Date: October 29th, 2017


In the autumn of 2012, destiny wreaks havoc on two unsuspecting people—Soham and Fiona.

Although his devastating past involving his brother still haunted him, Soham had established a promising career for himself in Bangalore.

After a difficult childhood, Fiona's fortunes had finally taken a turn for the better. She had married her beloved, and her life was as perfect as she had ever imagined it to be.

But when tragedy strikes them yet again, their fundamentally fragile lives threaten to fall apart.

Can Fiona and Soham overcome their grief?

Will the overwhelming pain destroy their lives?

Seasoned with the flavours of exotic Nepalese traditions and set in the picturesque Indian hill station, Gangtok, The Fragile Thread of Hope explores the themes of spirituality, faith, alcoholism, love, and guilt while navigating the complex maze of familial relationships.

Inspirational and heart-wrenchingly intimate, it urges you to wonder—does hope stand a chance in this travesty called life?

Buy Links:

 
Pankaj Giri was born and brought up in Gangtok, Sikkim—a picturesque hill station in India. He began his writing career with a book review blog, and now, after several years of honing his writing skills, he has written a novel—The Fragile Thread of Hope, a literary inspirational fiction dealing with love, loss, and family relationships. He is currently working in the government sector in Sikkim. He likes to kill time by listening to progressive metal music and watching cricket.

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Running in Snow by Renee Regent

Running in Snow:
A Holiday Novella
by Renee Regent

Genre: Women's Fiction, Romance


Two heartwarming tales of love and redemption. And snow.


Noelle’s Promise
Does your past define the future?
Noelle has one cardinal rule─never, ever celebrate the holidays. But now she’s promised to spend them with her boyfriend, Logan, and his extended family. As the festivities begin, bad memories surface. She manages to suppress her anxiety and join in the celebrations, until an unexpected incident sends her fleeing into the night. Can she overcome her past before it ruins her future?



Eve’s Hope

Can a holiday be unlucky every year?
When her heater goes out in the middle of a rare Atlanta snowstorm, reclusive Eve accepts the invitation to her handsome neighbor’s party. Expecting to be bored to tears, she encounters a few surprises before the countdown to midnight begins. Can she survive just one New Year’s Eve without her bad luck kicking in?




A lifelong entrepreneur, Renee Regent spent most of her life writing for business, but never lost her love of writing stories. Being an incurable romantic, she now writes stories about mismatched people who beat the odds to be together, with a surprising twist or two.
Renee lives in Atlanta with her husband, three cats and four turtles. When not working or writing, she can be found sitting on her deck enjoying nature. Wine may or may not be involved….

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!



Sunday, November 12, 2017

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Defending Hannah by Jennifer Becker

Defending Hannah
Delta Force Defenders Book 1
by Jennifer Becker
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Ben “Midas” Gates is the leader of his Delta Force team and is leading a mission to shut down a known terrorist working out of Panama and rescue hostages. When he arrives he discovers the mission is anything but easy and becomes even more complicated because he knows one of the hostages. It was a woman he had been in love with growing up and ran away from thirteen years ago. 

The mission isn’t a complete failure but the team discovers someone set them up to fail and they don’t take failure as an option. With the aid of Hannah who has inside information on their terrorist and who may know who set them up, Ben does all in his power not to fall for the only woman he has ever loved.



I grew up with a love of reading and writing. I wrote my first story at the age of 12 and my first book at 16. I love reading anything romance and I have a deep love for history. All my stories are about people who come from all different walks of life but all want to love and be loved.



Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!





Friday, November 10, 2017

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Just Right by Sheena Binkley

Title: Just Right
(A Something Just Ain't Right Novella)
AuthorSheena Binkley

Genre Interracial, Mystery & Suspense, Romance 

What happens when the chaos ends and their normal life begins? 


It has been three years since Hayley and Morgan Carter experienced the turmoil caused by Morgan’s family. Now that the threats, kidnappings, and shootings are behind them, the two can now live a normal life with their two-year-old son, Morgan Jr. While Hayley is living her dream as an event coordinator for a high-profiled company, Morgan decided to go into law enforcement and become a detective. With their lives slowly falling into place, the two will soon find out that things are not what they seem. 
As the two receive some surprising news from a former nemesis, they must decide what is best to protect themselves and their loved ones. Will the two result back to their former lives to keep their happily ever after, or will it be too late? 



Sheena Binkley first discovered her love for storytelling when writing her first story for a class project at the tender age of nine. Since then, she has composed several short stories and numerous tales that are not only engaging, but simply entertaining. She is also a freelance writer, penning articles on various topics including education and entertainment. 


To date, her best-selling novels include In Love With My Best Friend, Love Unbroken, Something Just Ain't Right, and The Love Chronicles.

In April of 2016, Sheena launched her own publishing company which focus strictly on romance books. Besides writing, she loves reading, shopping, and spending time with family and friends. She lives in Houston (where the weather is always unpredictable) with her husband and son.


Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!